Oh Christmas Tree, oh Christmas Tree…

Happy hump day everyone. We’re halfway through the week. Woohoo! I’m also half way through this December Nail Art Challenge. Time fly’s when you’re having fun.

Today’s theme is Christmas Tree. You all told me you wanted more tutorials so I decided to go ahead and create a tutorial on how I made my tree as well. It’s very simple and I believe that anyone could do it :). Hope you enjoy it.

To start, just choose your base color for your nails. For this particular design you’re going to want to choose a color that you want as your tree garland as well. I chose Julep Sienna which is a metallic, shimmery gold color. I painted two coats, topped with top coat, and let dry for a few hours. This step is important because you’re going to be using tape. ImageDon’t mind the knick in my nail. Remember I have a two year old :). Normally I would fix that but in this mani I’ll be covering it up anyways.

After you’ve waited a few hours for your nails to dry, you’re going to need to grab scotch tape and stripping tape. Cut about 4 pieces of striping tape and two pieces of scotch tape. Rub your fingers over the back of the tape to take some of the sticky away. You don’t want it pulling your base color off of your nails.

Next, take your two pieces of scotch tape and tape an upside down V on your nails with the open part of the V at the tip of your nail and the point towards your cuticle. If you’re confused then you’ll see what I mean in the picture below. Then take your striping tape and just tape zigzags on the inside of your V. Mimic the way garland would be hung on your tree.Ā Image

Then you’re going to grab your green polish that you want to use as your tree color. I’m using Color Club Ho-Ho-Holly. It’s the perfect Christmas Tree green. Paint one to two coats of green over top of your taped off area. Image

Now you need to quickly, but carefully, take your tape off. Make sure to do this while your green polish is still wet or it will leave holes in your tree by taking polish with the tape. Voila! You have a cute little Christmas Tree with garland.Image

Now feel free to decorate your tree as you wish. Or you can even just leave it plain. Whatever makes you happy. I decided to add some Christmas ornaments on mine. I used Color Club Berry and Bright for my tree topper, Julep Harley for the silver ornaments, and Color Club Gift of Sparkle for the purple ornaments. To add the ornaments I used the smallest of my dotting tools. You can also use the end of a pin, the tip of a pen, bobby pin, whatever works for you.Image

I decided to add tree garland on my other nails so this is how my finished mani turned out: Image

I hope my tutorial was helpful for you! Let me know if you have any questions. You can check out all the other great Christmas Tree manis by clicking the InLinkz below.


6 thoughts on “Oh Christmas Tree, oh Christmas Tree…

Leave a Reply

