Saran Wrap Nails

I received Sophie and Brandt in my Julep Maven September box. I never did use them because at the time I had an overwhelming amount of polish to try out and these colors just weren’t at the top of my list. They’re darker colors and I was still in summer brights mode.

I figured since it’s October and these are warmer fall colors that I’d go ahead and try them out. Sophie is described by Julep as a chic truffle mushroom creme. Brandt is an off-black creme. Both of these colors are from the Tina Turk Fall 2012 collection.

I was surprised by Sophie when I put it on. It seemed to have a bit of a purple hue to it. Maybe it was just my eyes but it was prettier than I thought it would be. I wanted to try something different and still be able to use Brandt as well so I decided to try out a Saran Wrap mani. This was my first attempt at this type of mani but I was pleasantly surprised by how it turned out.

I started out by painting two coats of Sophie for full opaqueness. Topped that with a coat of Seche Vite and let it dry for about an hour to make sure both layers were good and dry.

Next I pulled out my Saran Wrap and made a wad with it. This was pretty easy to do since Saran Wrap wants to wad up all the time anyways. Easy Peasy!

I painted one coat of Brandt over top of my pinky nail. Gave it a couple of seconds to get sticky then dabbed my wad of Saran Wrap over top of the nail a few times to give it sort of a tie dye look. Repeat on each nail, one at a time.

At this point I was ready to clean all of it off of my nails and do something else. It looked terrible. I decided to give it the benefit of the doubt and top it with a coat of Seche Vite to give it a glossy look in hopes that it would look better. I loved it! This mani was beautiful with a top coat. I’m going to be trying this again with other color combos as well. 🙂 I hope you love it as much as I do! XOXO

Image

2 thoughts on “Saran Wrap Nails

Leave a Reply

