Easy Halloween Nails

I know it’s still pretty early for Halloween fingers but a fellow nail loving gal asked if some of us bloggers could share a tutorial on creating some awesome Halloween nails. Since I’m fairly new at nail art, mine is pretty simple! I hope you’re able to recreate this yourself this Halloween! If you do, I’d love to see a picture :).

When asked to do this tutorial I was kind of at a loss on what I was going to do. Vampires? Bats? Pumpkins? Pumpkins seem like the easiest thing to do but I wanted to challenge myself a little so I decided to step it up a bit and add Frankenstein! On my thumb and ring finger I’m wearing Julep Emilie, my index and pinky have Maybelline Color Show in Onyx Rush, and my middle finger has Essie Bazooka. I topped each nail with a coat of Seche Vite and let them dry for awhile. Also, I wait to clean up at the end. Sorry for the mess! lol

Image

As you can see this picture was taken in natural light outside. I lost the sun after that so had to take the rest of my pictures indoors.

In my October Julep box they included 2 glitter pots. One black and one orange. I thought they were beautiful but didn’t think I’d ever use them. I had an “AH-HA!” moment and figured a way to use my orange glitter. I packed it on top of the black polish on my index and pinky fingers. It really is beautiful and glad I though about it! If you have regular orange glitter polish, you can use that with a similar effect (and a lot less mess). I topped those nails with Seche Vite as well because I love the glossy shine it puts over the glitter.

Image

Mine final step was the hardest of the steps… to add my pumpkin and Frankenstein. I used my smallest dotting tools for the drawings on my nails to make it simple.

I started with my thumb nail. Again I grabbed my Color Show Onyx Rush and put a glob of it on a paper plate. Dipped my dotting tool and swiped a line across my nail then added the stitches across the line. Next I did the pumpkin. Again with the same dotting tool and black polish I started by drawing some simple, tiny, triangles for the pumpkin eyes and a zig zag line for his mouth.

Finally for the Frankenstein! I used the same size dotting tool and black polish again and started by drawing his hair. I just kind of drew a squiggly line across the top of my nail then filled it in with the black polish to create his hair. Next I drew a straight line across the end of my nail for his mouth. After that I cleaned my tool and added a drop of Julep’s Kate on my paper plate. Dipped my tool in the white and made two dots for Franks eyeballs. Cleaned my tool again and went back to black. By this time I needed more black on my plate because it was pretty dry. I drew the stitched line across his forehead the same way I did on my thumb. And for the last step of Frankenstein, I dipped in the black again and added some eyeballs. Topped it with Seche Vite again and waited for it all to dry! Simple and adorable.

Image

I hope you enjoyed this tutorial and try to recreate it yourself this Halloween! Leave me a comment and let me know if you have any question! XOXO

5 thoughts on “Easy Halloween Nails

  1. Pingback: My own October challenge. Enough Halloween mani`s to … fill a halloween candy bag? « Mommy Loves Nail Polish

  2. Pingback: Monthly Vanity Polish (MVP) – October Halloween Nails | Freetail Therapy

  3. Pingback: Day 5 Halloween “No Name” Scaaaarey Manicure! « Mommy Loves Nail Polish

Leave a Reply

